top of page

Moving on with the 1886 bustle

So I've received a suggestion and decided to take a deep breath and sart this whole pattern drafting again after a hard day at work (please pat my head) so I have some progress pics to show. Oh, and for asking for more advice! So what I did - since the first draft's front was perfect - is that I used that one, and instead of pinching everything in the back area which resulted in a too tight garment, I've just taken teh original pattern and lowered the waist line on all of the back pattern pieces. No major tightening as I was afraid the front will close funny again.

The result: hmmmmmm...ohh -kaaaay... Getting there. Slowly, but getting there.

Now the bodice fits perfectly on the upper part of my torso, it's now the lower part that flows around like a skirt, it's now too loose. Let me stick in some pics.

Seems to be fine...

Even from the back, wowzer!

However there is definetely a part where it could use a take in (AKA don't make me hide my waist after suffering so much to lace myself!!!)

And the problemo: Now the front's lower part is flowing around like it could be flipped up by the wind! And I don't really know how to _securely_ take everything in so the funny bagging of the fabric won't happen again :C

Asking for a leedle bit halp again. But now in a definetely more positive attitude! So happy at least I've made a little progress. Whew!

Thanks folks

xx

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page